Why is ventilation important?

Our houses are increasingly better insulated, which is of course good news for energy consumption, which is constantly decreasing. However, these well-insulated houses also have a risk of insufficient ventilation.

More and more contractors are providing central ventilation systems in newly built houses, but this is not always done for every room.

An example: cellars are often a forgotten place when it comes to ventilation. The result: an increase in humidity and an increased risk of condensation (which in turn can cause mould).

Morality of the story: ventilation is important to prevent moisture problems. In this article, we explain why ventilation can make a huge difference and which ventilation systems you can install - without heat loss.

Four good reasons to ventilate

Were you looking for a reason why ventilation is important? We'll give you four important reasons.

Number 1

Good air quality

The most obvious advantage of correct ventilation in the home is of course the high air quality. If the air can circulate well, the air quality in your home will automatically be the most optimal and therefore the healthiest.
Number 2

Moisture removal

An average person produces about 10 litres of water vapour in one day, which increases humidity. This includes all human and non-human activities such as breathing, showering, washing or cooking. Without proper ventilation, that moisture can do nothing but condense against cold surfaces such as walls or windows.
Number 3

No more musty smell

Everyone knows that damp, unventilated rooms can smell very musty. This is, of course, a normal consequence of the lack of air circulation. In unventilated rooms, everything smells less fresh than in ventilated rooms.
Number 4

Allergic? Then ventilation is definitely a must

Anyone with allergies or asthma knows that fresh air is extremely important. Poor air quality can exacerbate asthma and some allergies, as well as causing additional complaints such as headaches or fatigue.
Why you have to ventilate

What happens if you don't ventilate?

1. Ventilation is the only way to dissipate moist air

Moisture is produced in a house in large quantities in the order of 10 litres per person per day, depending on the number of people. These quantities can only be removed from a dwelling by means of ventilation. Especially in new homes, which in most cases are well insulated and airtight, well thought-out ventilation is crucial to prevent moisture problems with condensation and mould. In other words: controlled ventilation is necessary to keep the air clean and healthy.

2. Indoor air regularly too dry or too humid, depending on temperature

In a non-ventilated house with high insulation, the air pressure inside is almost never the same as outside. In addition, the indoor air can become either too dry or too humid, depending on the temperature differences.

A good ventilation system makes use of these pressure differences and ensures regular ventilation without heat loss:

The Belgian ventilation standard for passive houses gives as a guide a n50 value of 1 if you choose ventilation system D with heat recovery. This is a system with mechanical supply and extraction. In concrete terms, this means that the air in the house can be changed once per hour at a pressure difference of 50 Pa (Pascal) between inside and outside.

If you work with ventilation system C, in which a natural supply takes place via window grilles and mechanical extraction takes place, then the standard prescribes an n50 value of 3. So here you have three air changes per hour.

If you have a ventilation system C, airtightness is very important for good air circulation. With ventilation system D, airtightness is mainly important for heat recovery efficiency.

3. A non-ventilated house is not healthy to live in

A healthy indoor climate is not a matter of course everywhere. In houses where there is little or no ventilation, various air quality problems can arise:

  1. Recently installed building boards, building materials and adhesives can release volatile organic compounds (VOCs) into indoor air (source: Vision on Technology - VITO).
  2. Moist air can lead to condensation against cold surfaces (windows, walls)
  3. Condensation can cause mildew and affect the paintwork and plastering

Pourquoi la ventilation est-elle importante ?

Nos maisons sont de mieux en mieux isolées, ce qui est bien sûr une bonne nouvelle pour la consommation d'énergie, qui ne cesse de diminuer. Cependant, ces maisons bien isolées présentent également un risque de ventilation insuffisante.

De plus en plus d'entrepreneurs fournissent des systèmes de ventilation centralisés dans les maisons nouvellement construites, mais cela n'est pas toujours fait pour chaque pièce.

Un exemple : les caves sont souvent un endroit oublié en matière de ventilation. Le résultat : une augmentation de l'humidité et un risque accru de condensation (qui peut à son tour provoquer des moisissures).

Moralité de l'histoire : la ventilation est importante pour prévenir les problèmes d'humidité. Dans cet article, nous expliquons pourquoi la ventilation peut faire une énorme différence et quels systèmes de ventilation vous pouvez installer - sans perte de chaleur.

Quatre bonnes raisons de ventiler

Vous cherchiez une raison pour laquelle la ventilation est importante ? Nous vous donnerons quatre raisons importantes.

Numéro 1

Bonne qualité de l'air

L'avantage le plus évident d'une ventilation correcte dans la maison est bien sûr la haute qualité de l'air. Si l'air peut bien circuler, la qualité de l'air dans votre maison sera automatiquement la plus optimale et donc la plus saine.
Numéro 2

Élimination de l'humidité

Une personne moyenne produit environ 10 litres de vapeur d'eau en un jour, ce qui augmente l'humidité. Cela comprend toutes les activités humaines et non humaines telles que respirer, se doucher, se laver ou cuisiner. Sans une ventilation adéquate, cette humidité ne peut que se condenser contre les surfaces froides comme les murs ou les fenêtres.
Numéro 3

Plus d'odeur de moisi

Tout le monde sait que les pièces humides et non ventilées peuvent sentir le moisi. C'est bien sûr une conséquence normale du manque de circulation de l'air. Dans les pièces non ventilées, tout sent moins frais que dans les pièces ventilées.
Numéro 4

Allergique ? La ventilation est donc indispensable.

Toute personne souffrant d'allergies ou d'asthme sait que l'air frais est extrêmement important. La mauvaise qualité de l'air peut aggraver l'asthme et certaines allergies, et provoquer des plaintes supplémentaires telles que des maux de tête ou de la fatigue.
Pourquoi il faut ventiler

Que se passe-t-il si vous ne ventilez pas ?

1. La ventilation est le seul moyen de dissiper l'air humide

L'humidité est produite dans une maison en grande quantité, de l'ordre de 10 litres par personne et par jour, selon le nombre de personnes. Ces quantités ne peuvent être retirées d'un logement que par le biais de la ventilation. En particulier dans les maisons neuves, qui sont dans la plupart des cas bien isolées et étanches, une ventilation bien pensée est cruciale pour éviter les problèmes d'humidité liés à la condensation et aux moisissures. En d'autres termes : une ventilation contrôlée est nécessaire pour maintenir l'air propre et sain.

2. Air intérieur régulièrement trop sec ou trop humide, selon la température

Dans une maison non ventilée et très isolée, la pression de l'air à l'intérieur n'est presque jamais la même qu'à l'extérieur. En outre, l'air intérieur peut devenir trop sec ou trop humide, selon les différences de température.

Un bon système de ventilation utilise ces différences de pression et assure une ventilation régulière sans perte de chaleur :

La norme belge de ventilation pour les maisons passives donne à titre indicatif une valeur n50 de 1 si vous choisissez le système de ventilation D avec récupération de chaleur. Il s'agit d'un système avec approvisionnement et extraction mécaniques. Concrètement, cela signifie que l'air de la maison peut être renouvelé une fois par heure à une différence de pression de 50 Pa (Pascal) entre l'intérieur et l'extérieur.

Si vous travaillez avec un système de ventilation C, dans lequel l'alimentation naturelle se fait par des grilles de fenêtre et l'extraction mécanique, la norme prescrit une valeur n50 de 3. Ici, vous avez donc trois changements d'air par heure.

Si vous disposez d'un système de ventilation C, l'étanchéité à l'air est très importante pour une bonne circulation de l'air. Avec le système de ventilation D, l'étanchéité à l'air est principalement importante pour l'efficacité de la récupération de la chaleur.

3. Une maison non ventilée n'est pas saine à vivre

Un climat intérieur sain n'est pas une évidence partout. Dans les maisons où il y a peu ou pas de ventilation, divers problèmes de qualité de l'air peuvent survenir :

  1. Les panneaux de construction, les matériaux de construction et les adhésifs récemment installés peuvent libérer des composés organiques volatils (COV) dans l'air intérieur (source : Vision on Technology - VITO).
  2. L'air humide peut entraîner de la condensation sur les surfaces froides (fenêtres, murs)
  3. La condensation peut provoquer des moisissures et affecter la peinture et le plâtre