Moisture Combat: This is how you fight moisture problems!

If you suffer from moisture problems and need proper moisture control, you are certainly not alone. Approximately 1 in 4 house owners in Flanders will sooner or later experience moisture problems that require treatment.

This reduces living comfort and also the value and sales value of the home. A correct diagnosis of the moisture problem is essential to determine the (hidden) cause of the moisture symptoms and to discover the best solutions. Depending on the specific problem, there are different types of moisture control.

Request free moisture diagnosis

In this article we discuss all types of moisture control. More specifically, we go into more detail:

  1. All types of treatable moisture problems
  2. The moisture control techniques
  3. How much moisture control can cost
  4. Whether you can get subsidies to fight moisture problems

Types of moisture problems in homes

Moisture control is of course only applied to specific moisture problems in homes. First we discuss all the different causes.

Moisture problems in houses can occur in 9 different ways:

  1. Building moisture
  2. Rising or rising damp
  3. Condensation water
  4. Moisture production by habitation
  5. Resuscitating moisture
  6. Humid crawl spaces
  7. Moist cellars
  8. Construction faults
  9. Low ventilation

1. Building moisture

Moisture problems due to building moisture

Whenever one builds a new house, large amounts of building moisture enter the house due to the intense use of water. Think of the production of concrete, cement or gypsum. As a result, the new home contains an increased concentration of moisture during the first two years after completion.

This temporary increased moisture concentration can lead to moisture problems in the building structure.

READ MORE

2. Rising damp

Rising or rising damp

Moisture that rises or rises due to the capillary action of walls is one of the biggest moisture problems that exist. Most cases of moisture control have to do with the control of moisture that rises in basement walls or walls on the ground floor. Rising damp cannot be confused with rising damp.

READ MORE

3. Condensation water

Moisture problems due to condensation

Air always contains a certain amount of moisture. The higher the air temperature, the higher the humidity can be. That is why air in homes always has a higher humidity than outside air.

READ MORE
Condensation moisture

4. Moisture production by habitation

Moisture production by habitation

Simply by living in a house, the humidity is increased. Of course, this is not a problem at all, but it may have to be accommodated with extra ventilation.

READ MORE

5. Resuscitating moisture

Rainfallfall

Moisture permeates through rain, allowing rainwater to pass horizontally through untreated walls.

READ MORE

6. Humid crawl space

Crawl space with moisture problems

Crawl spaces and cellars usually have a very high humidity. This creates a vapour pressure difference between the crawl space and the rest of the house. With a higher vapour pressure in the crawl space, moisture can enter the house.

READ MORE

7. Moist cellars

Basement room with moisture problems

The same applies to cellars as to crawl cellars: these are places that are sensitive to various types of moisture problems such as high humidity, with its paired condensation problems or the formation of mould.

READ MORE
Moisture in the basement

8. Construction faults

Human error as the cause of moisture problems

During the construction of a house, various construction defects can be the cause of future moisture problems. For example, rubble in the cavity or mortar residue that builds a bridge between two cavity walls. This allows the moisture to pass capillary to the interior space behind it.

READ MORE
Moisture due to construction faults and construction faults

9. Low ventilation

Ventilation: the cause and solution of many moisture problems

It goes without saying that damp air cannot escape from a living space without ventilation grilles or other air vents. Incorrectly positioned ventilation or a construction fault can lead to condensation as a result of moisture not being removed correctly. This causes problems in the long term. An improvement of the existing ventilation facilities or the installation of an additional mechanical ventilation can offer a solution.

READ MORE
start here with a free moisture diagnosis

Combattre l'humidité : voici comment combattre les problèmes d'humidité !

Si vous souffrez de problèmes d'humidité et que vous avez besoin d'un contrôle adéquat de l'humidité, vous n'êtes certainement pas seul. En Flandre, environ un propriétaire de maison sur quatre connaîtra tôt ou tard des problèmes d'humidité qui devront être traités.

Cela réduit le confort de vie et aussi la valeur et la valeur de vente de la maison. Un diagnostic correct du problème d'humidité est essentiel pour déterminer la cause (cachée) des symptômes d'humidité et pour découvrir les meilleures solutions. Selon le problème spécifique, il existe différents types de contrôle de l'humidité.

Demandez un diagnostic gratuit de l'humidité

Dans cet article, nous abordons tous les types de contrôle de l'humidité. Plus précisément, nous allons entrer dans les détails :

  1. Tous les types de problèmes d'humidité traitables
  2. Les techniques de contrôle de l'humidité
  3. Combien peut coûter le contrôle de l'humidité
  4. Si vous pouvez obtenir des subventions pour lutter contre les problèmes d'humidité

Passez rapidement à : humidité ascendante - humidité perméable - moisissures - condensation - contrôle de l'humidité - ventilation - subventions

Types de problèmes d'humidité dans les habitations

Le contrôle de l'humidité n'est bien sûr appliqué qu'à des problèmes d'humidité spécifiques dans les maisons. Nous discutons d'abord de toutes les différentes causes.

Les problèmes d'humidité dans les maisons peuvent se manifester de 9 manières différentes :

  1. Humidité des bâtiments
  2. L'humidité ascendante ou ascensionnelle
  3. Eau de condensation
  4. Production d'humidité par habitation
  5. Réanimation de l'humidité
  6. Les vides sanitaires humides
  7. Caves humides
  8. Défauts de construction
  9. Faible ventilation

1. Humidité des bâtiments

Problèmes d'humidité dus à l'humidité des bâtiments

Chaque fois que l'on construit une nouvelle maison, de grandes quantités d'humidité de construction pénètrent dans la maison en raison de l'utilisation intensive de l'eau. Pensez à la production de béton, de ciment ou de gypse. Par conséquent, la nouvelle maison contient une concentration accrue d'humidité pendant les deux premières années suivant son achèvement.

Cette augmentation temporaire de la concentration d'humidité peut entraîner des problèmes d'humidité dans la structure du bâtiment.

LIRE PLUS

2. L'humidité montante

L'humidité ascendante ou ascensionnelle

L'humidité qui monte ou s'élève par capillarité des murs est l'un des plus grands problèmes d'humidité qui existent. La plupart des cas de contrôle de l'humidité sont liés au contrôle de l'humidité qui monte dans les murs du sous-sol ou du rez-de-chaussée. L'humidité ascendante ne peut pas être confondue avec l'humidité ascendante.

LIRE PLUS

3. Eau de condensation

Problèmes d'humidité dus à la condensation

L'air contient toujours une certaine quantité d'humidité. Plus la température de l'air est élevée, plus l'humidité peut être importante. C'est pourquoi l'air dans les maisons a toujours un taux d'humidité plus élevé que l'air extérieur.

LIRE PLUS
Humidité de condensation

4. Production d'humidité par habitation

Production d'humidité par habitation

Le simple fait de vivre dans une maison augmente l'humidité. Bien sûr, ce n'est pas du tout un problème, mais il faudra peut-être prévoir une ventilation supplémentaire.

LIRE PLUS

5. Réanimation de l'humidité

Rainfallfall

L'humidité s'infiltre par la pluie, permettant à l'eau de pluie de passer horizontalement à travers les murs non traités.

LIRE PLUS

6. Le vide sanitaire humide

Un vide sanitaire avec des problèmes d'humidité

Les vides sanitaires et les caves ont généralement un taux d'humidité très élevé. Cela crée une différence de pression de vapeur entre le vide sanitaire et le reste de la maison. Avec une pression de vapeur plus élevée dans le vide sanitaire, l'humidité peut entrer dans la maison.

LIRE PLUS

7. Caves humides

Pièce en sous-sol avec des problèmes d'humidité

Il en va de même pour les caves que pour les caves vides : ce sont des endroits sensibles à divers types de problèmes d'humidité, comme une humidité élevée, avec les problèmes de condensation ou de moisissure qui y sont associés.

LIRE PLUS
L'humidité dans le sous-sol

8. Défauts de construction

L'erreur humaine comme cause des problèmes d'humidité

Lors de la construction d'une maison, divers défauts de construction peuvent être la cause de futurs problèmes d'humidité. Par exemple, des débris dans la cavité ou des résidus de mortier qui construisent un pont entre deux murs creux. Cela permet à l'humidité de passer par capillarité dans l'espace intérieur derrière elle.

LIRE PLUS
Humidité due à des défauts de construction et des vices de construction

9. Faible ventilation

Ventilation : la cause et la solution de nombreux problèmes d'humidité

Il va sans dire que l'air humide ne peut pas s'échapper d'un espace de vie sans grilles d'aération ou autres bouches d'aération. Une ventilation mal placée ou un défaut de construction peut entraîner de la condensation en raison d'une mauvaise évacuation de l'humidité. Cela pose des problèmes à long terme. Une amélioration des installations de ventilation existantes ou l'installation d'une ventilation mécanique supplémentaire peut offrir une solution.

LIRE PLUS
commencez ici avec un diagnostic gratuit de l'humidité